Treaty of Paris signed


Britain, France and Spain sign the Treaty of Paris, ending the Seven Years War. Having lost the war, France gives up all claims of sovereignty in North America. Britain now claims sovereignty over the whole of North America east of the Mississippi (with the exception of New Orleans and Louisiana). Spain and Russia still maintain competing claims to parts of western North America, including the lands currently called British Columbia.

Showing 1 reaction